The Most Magical Way to Sweat Your Ass Off at Disney’s New Fantasyland Orlando

Be Our Guest restaurant Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

Be Our Guest restaurant Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

Here you are, after years of denial, I am going to put it all out there.  Being a Florida resident has spoiled me.  There I said it.  Having been a regular guest at the Magic Kingdom since childhood I have become a bit of a brat when it comes to suffocating heat, cattle drives of sweaty tourists who have left all common courtesy at the parking lot, and waiting in lines upwards of two hours long.  Under no circumstances would I ever, ever, ever have braved the Magic Kingdom in June…EVER.  Except of course, for the love of blogging (you can thank me later).  I’ve done this before, the magic, the memories.  I’m telling you like it is, bottom line, all heartwarming moments aside.  Don’t do it.  However, since I did I will fill you in on the New Fantasyland so far.  

Of all the worlds in the Magic Kingdom, Fantasyland has always been my favorite.  The New Fantasyland is the largest expansion in the  history of the Magic Kingdom.  Yesterday, my only mission was to check out its newest additions, Storybook Circus and the Enchanted Forest.

By the time I made it to the tram drop-off I was ready for that teleportation device I’ve always wanted.  I had to settle for the two minutes of air conditioning on the monorail instead.  Once I arrived to the gate I barreled past the herd, bolted for the Disney Railroad and I was on my way via a vintage train to the New Fantasyland.

Fantasyland Station Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

Fantasyland Station Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

I arrived to Fantasyland Station.  The newest addition to the Disney Railroad led me into Storybook Circus, a period classic American circus inspired by the Disney film Dumbo.  Now I’m not a clown’s number one fan, but I loved the vintage circus theme with bright colors, type face posters, big top tents and old wagon style concession stands.  The Casey Jr. Splash and Soak Station was a favorable bonus given the temperature rising over 95 degrees.

A Quick Look at the Attractions in Storybook Circus:

The Barnstormer – Awesome first time roller coaster for mini humans 35″ and taller.  I took my son on this and he didn’t hate me… (He hated me after the Tower of Terror).  The line for Barnstormer is short compared to others in Fantasyland.

Dumbo the Flying Elephant – Cool for really young kids.  Play while you wait.  Get a pager and let the kids play in the air conditioned circus-themed play area until it’s time to fly.  Pans out to not losing your mind.

Pete’s Silly Sideshow – A character meet and greet.  If you’re with a child you will undoubtedly be swayed into this big top.

Big Top Souvenirs – A boisterous place to spend your mula on sweet treats and trinkets you don’t need but will want to buy.

I was eager to make it to the Enchanted Forest and into Ariel’s Grotto.  Admittedly the Little Mermaid is one of my childhood favorites.  Even at 32 years of age, 40 minutes seemed like forever, but I braved the heat and my moment in the giant clamshell finally arrived.  “You and I go way back,” I said as I was seated next to the fairytale princess.  Her skin white like an unscathed seashell, mine covered in colorful tattoos, we leaned in for a photo and she replied, “It’s been too long.”  Then in an instant our moment had ended and I was off to check the next thing on my list, the Under the Sea ride.

Storybook Circus Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

Storybook Circus Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

Two words come to mind after riding Under the Sea, “thoroughly disappointed.”  Disney really dropped the ball on this one.  I was more enthusiastic about the ornamental waterfall at the entrance than the actual ride.  I checked my phone, we were in the 21st century, yet this ride showed minimal technological flare.  A few Audio-Animatronics, a couple digital screens and a blast of cold air did not measure up to big league favorites like It’s a Small World and Peter Pan.  An hour and a half not well spent however, I have done worse things in that amount of time.  I cut my losses and persevered.

Under the Sea the Enchanted Forest Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

Under the Sea the Enchanted Forest Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

After leaving Under the Sea, now better known to me as “the waterfall I couldn’t jump in,” I found myself in a town center as if I had stepped into Beauty and the Beast.  My repugnance for the previous ride slowly fading as I read “Gaston’s Tavern.”  Usually any sign with the word “tavern” brightens my spirits, and so I wandered in and wandered out with a pork shank, a mango slurpee made to look like a beer, and a bottle of water.  Full, hydrated and temporarily cooled off, I was ready for Enchanted Tales with Belle.

Again, I don’t know why so many people wait in the sweltering heat, I know they are not all dedicated bloggers.  Two hours surrounded by anxious (mostly bratty) kids to wait for anything other than survival supplies during a zombie apocalypse is just beyond me, but don’t let my impatience stop you.  This show is not to be missed.  I loved the mirror (which I won’t ruin by going into detail about).  Madame Wardrobe was flawless.  The details were well planned and implemented.  I will definitely return to this attraction come winter.

Gaston's Tavern Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

Gaston’s Tavern Photo: Christa Thompson 2013

I was delighted by the story adventure that had just unraveled before me.  I was also ready to escape the human gridlock that was infiltrating my fairytale.  I couldn’t help but be drawn over to the iron gates guarding the entrance to Be Our Guest restaurant.

A castle on a mountaintop, check. A towering waterfall and a babbling brook, check, check.  Gargoyles along the bridge, triple check.  And a doorway into a mountain castle that greeted me with mythical creatures carved from stone!  I thought I passed out from the heat and was dreaming!  Cheerlessly I was advised that I had to leave.  Reservations for Be Our Guest were booked 130 days in advance (not a typo, a little insider secret, if you show up a few minutes before dinner, you can usually squeeze in on a cancellation).  My excited gaze traded for a slight pout.  After 4 hours I was spent.

I looked at the round maiden and sighed.  The only twinkle now coming from her sweat glistened forehead.  Sullen and tired I was beginning to realize that the magic was ending.  It was time to head home.  At least until 2014 when the expansion is complete.

10 thoughts on “The Most Magical Way to Sweat Your Ass Off at Disney’s New Fantasyland Orlando

  1. Interesting adventure….in the name of blogging, eh??? Not sure if I would be all that good at waiting in the heat with a pile of kids, but then, as a non-parent, I have not been conditioned! Would only consider braving the child elements with my nieces and nephews….of course my sister would need to be there to chaperone!

  2. Pingback: Why You Should Drop Everything and Visit St. Augustine, FL |

  3. Gaston’s brew is good. You are not missing anything at Be Our Guest except a really cool interior. You are right about Ariel’s ride…can you say Finding Nemo ride at Epcot? It’s a carbon copy. I expected more, however the little girls still love it. I can’t wait for Snow White’s roller coaster!

  4. Pingback: No Lines at Universal Studios Orlando, Florida | My Weekender

Leave a comment